PLAYLIST: Here’s the Best New Music – Feat. Lana Del Rey, Astrid S, Ray BLK, Kelly Rowland, Sharon Van Etten and more

Thirsty for some new music? We’ve created a playlist with the week’s best new releases, and it’s here for you whenever you need inspiration.

Joya Mooi by Marina Coenen

There are lots of reasons to look forward to Fridays, and the fact that it’s the day most new music gets released is definitely way up there on the list. But the amount of new music can feel overwhelming at times, right? Well, we think so – and that’s why we’ve given life to a whole new playlist with handpicked musical goodies for you to fall in love with. We’re calling it the ‘Best New Music Playlist’ and the name says it all.

So without further ado, here are 10 new tracks that we’re digging at the moment – and a few more! Listen to the full playlist below.

Astrid S – “Airpods”

Okay, last time we checked, it was Friday, and name a better way to celebrate than with the long-awaited debut album by Norway’s pop star Astrid S! Leave It Beautiful is the title of the record that has received praise from The Line of Best Fit among others. We’ve completely fallen for the sixth track, “Airpods”, which immediately forces you out on the dancefloor.

Ray BLK – “Lovesick”

We’re loving “Lovesick” by UK rapper, singer and songwriter Ray BLK. It’s the first single to be lifted off her forthcoming debut album, set for release in 2021. The track is an empowering ode to taking control and reclaiming your power, as Ray BLK puts it herself. “I’m always trying to empower women not to take disrespect sitting down but to keep a distance from people who don’t make them feel good about themselves, and boss up because success is the best revenge,” she says in a press release.

Lana Del Rey – “Let Me Love You Like A Woman”

Lana Del Rey has released the first taste of her forthcoming album Chemtrails Over the Country Club. The album’s release date is still unknown, but if the rest of it is anything like “Let Me Love You Like A Woman”, we’ve definitely got something very powerful to look forward to.

King Princess – “Only Time Makes It Human”

Brooklyn-born singer, songwriter, producer and powerhouse King Princess has returned with the irresistible new single “Only Time Makes It Human”. An up-tempo, dance-friendly song about heartbreak and trying to shake off an old lover: “And it sucks that I think about her // Cause thinking ’bout her leaves me lonely,” she sings in the catchy chorus.

Sharon Van Etten – “Let Go”

Indie-rocker Sharon Van Etten is back with a stunning and vulnerable dreampop-track written for Arthur Jone’s documentary Feels Good Man. The documentary follows Matt Furie, the creator of Pepe the Frog, and his fight to claim back his illustration that was usurped by the alt-right movement. “After watching the documentary, I just followed the feeling of coming to terms with something and tried to evoke peace through my melody and words,” Sharon Van Etten said.

Kelly Rowland – “Crazy”

Alright, after breathing out to Sharon Van Etten’s “Let Go”, we think you’re ready to get back out on the dancefloor with the disco cut “Crazy” by the one and only Kelly Rowland. There’s really not much to say other than this is a track that will most likely make you smile, maybe make you fall in love, and definitely make you move your feet.

TSHA – “Change” feat. Gabrielle Aplin

London-based producer, songwriter and singer TSHA is tipped to be one of the UK’s next big names, and with her brand new EP Flowers out, we get the buzz. Just listen to “Change” feat. Gabrielle Aplin and get a taste of the young artist’s groovy, warm and melodic creations.

Middle Kids – “R U 4 Me?”

We’ve had to wait for 1,5 years on new notes from Australia’s Middle Kids, so the single “R U 4 Me?” is a welcome release! Once again playing in the intersection of indiepop, alt rock and hints of country, Middle Kids are manifesting the praise they received back in 2018 for their critically-acclaimed debut album Lost Friends. Reflecting on the inspiration behind “R U 4 Me?”, lead singer and songwriter Hannah Joy explains: “I was at university once and there were all these signs on the walls saying ‘BE NICE IT’S NOT THAT HARD.’ The tone of the message itself actually wasn’t very nice or kind…. We are always looking around at other people thinking ‘are you on my team?’ I think this just results in us all feeling lonely.

Joya Mooi – “Blossom Carefully”

If you haven’t heard of Amsterdam’s rising new star Joya Mooi yet, that’s alright, as long as you take note of her name now. Her new EP Blossom Carefully is out today with six stunning tracks reflecting on themes such as freedom, hope and identity, as well as escapism, nature and spirituality. Title track “Blossoms Carefully” is a mellow tune operating somewhere between hip hop, R&B and neo-soul, representative of the rest of the EP as well.

Hope Tala – “Crazy”

We mentioned our love for London’s rising new R&B-artist Hope Tala, when she recently released the track “All My Girls Like To Fight”. With “Crazy”, she’s once again proving why we all think she’s here to stay. With airy vocals floating over a smooth production, “Crazy” is another promising track from the forthcoming EP Girl Eats Sun, out on October 30th.

Also Added

We’ve got a few more treats for you. Also added to the playlist are:

Brandy – “No Tomorrow”
Stefflon Don – “Can’t Let You Go”
GRANT – “Don’t Recall Growing Old”
Julia Jacklin – “To Perth, Before the Border Closes”
Claire Rosinkranz & Jeremy Zucker – “Backyard Boy”
renforshort – “afterthoughts”
Sam DeRosa – “Sad Faces”
Baby In Vain – “2019”


Your Cart is Empty